• 19 Dec 2018

    Covenant of Mayors 2019 Twinning Programme: Who are the 12 signatories and 2 Coordinators selected?

    Amongst over 60 applications received, 12 municipalities and 2 Covenant Territorial Coordinators (CTCs) have been selected to take part in the Covenant of Mayors 2019 twinning programme. A total of seven peer-to-peer exchanges will be organised by the EU Covenant of Mayors Office and funded by the European Commission.

    Selected signatories:

    • Nice Metropole (France) and Vilnius (Lithuania)

    • Turku (Finland) and Bologna (Italy)

    • Braga (Portugal) and Sant Boi de Llobregat (Spain)

    • Ath (Belgium) and Saldus (Latvia)

    • Figueira da Foz (Portugal) and L’Aquila (Italy)

    • Smiltene (Latvia) and Milos (Greece)


    Selected Coordinators:

    • Ministry of the German-speaking community (Belgium) and the Cyprus Energy Agency (Cyprus)


    Applicants have been matched-up according to their interests in specific areas of action, socio-economic and institutional context, territorial similarities and their stage of mitigation and adaptation work.

    The six twinnings between signatories will focus on various aspects of mitigation and adaptation to climate change and will be based on a peer-to-peer approach. Only exception is for Braga, that will act as a mentor in a mentor-mentee exchange with the Catalan city of Sant Bois de Llobrega.

    The twinning visits will take place starting from February 2019. They will include a first visit to be organised before June 2019 and a return visit taking place no later than one year after the first one.


    Contact at the EU Covenant of Mayors Office: Claire Baffert - claire.baffert@eumayors.eu